Runner’s Log 8/4: All right. Who’s ready to go?

Runner’s Log 8/4
*All right. Who’s ready to go?
*Knees (already pouting): I don’t wanna.
*Bladder: Not sure this is the best time.
*Feet: Whatever. You’ve already been on us for six hours. What’s one more?
*Stomach: You do realize you just ate a full plate of pilaf and vegetables, right?
*Great! As long as we’re all on the same page.
*I think deer are the snobs of the woodland creatures. They always stand there in the field and whisper to each other as they watch me run by. They don’t run away because they’re afraid of us. They just think they’re too good to be seen with us.
*I can hear them now, “On Wednesdays, we wear taupe.” – Mean Girls are everywhere.
*(1.5 mi in) Come on knees! We can do this. Only another couple miles to go. (Can knees cackle cuz I swear I heard maniacal laughter…)
*My bladder has turned into a toddler – tells me it needs to pee like every five minutes.
*It’s important to look around and see what you can find. It tells you a lot about yourself.
I spy:
A dead bird, belly up
A banana peel
A manure pile
A nasty old sock
A yucky dead snake.
I don’t think I like where this is going…
*Wait…dead snakes don’t move!
*Well, at least the urge to pee is gone.
*I think that’s enough introspection for today.

Leave a Reply

